Monday, September 27, 2010

Driving . . .driving Daddy crazy

So I've been driving lately. And let me tell you, it's scary as hell. And stressful because Dad is an awful teacher. Last night I drove to Papa Johns for some pizza and we got into a screaming match over parking by the buggy cart catchers or making a u turn. Daddy is the type of teacher that expects me to have mind reading capabilities on par with Professor X and the instincts that come with years of driving.

But we're stuck with each other and I'm slowly getting the hang of it. Has anybody noticed how often the speed limit changes? It drives me crazy! Just when I get the hang of keeping thirty miles an hour, they bump it to forty, or down to twenty like, every two seconds.

So far I'm doing alright. It still feel surreal, though.

In other news, the Book Festival is coming! What is the Book Festival you ask? It's a stadium sized room at the Civic Center that is filled with a gazillion books for fifty cents to a dollar a piece.

In other words: heaven

For the last two years I've walked out with an entire box full for less than twenty bucks. I've found old childhood favorites, sequels that I couldn't find anywhere in a library. And there's not just fiction books - I got a book in handwriting analysis that was really neat and and old baby name book.

The Book Festival is October 16 and I am counting the days. Literally.

Quote of the Day: "This is also a man who could not save his own ass with a two handed ass saving machine." - Maureen Johnson

This quote refers to the main character of those Dan Brown books everyone seems to love. While I do not love these books, I do love this quote. I want a two handed ass saving machine.

Thursday, September 16, 2010

My Life . . .

So I'm supposed to write an autobiography for Freshmen Experience, and I have no idea how I'm supposed to accomplish this. Seriously? Does he have any idea how ridiculously boring my life is?

Well, I've had movie worthy juicy drama happen, but I've been too small to witness or remember it. I have only one memory of the divorce, and when Chasity got in her horrifying car wreck I was seven and didn't understand the fact that she very nearly died.

SO I sit in freshmen experience this morning, going through all my memories through each year and guess what? The most exciting things, the most important things, are meeting Gabi and Tim and Laurie and Stephanie and Kelly. My main, oldest, closest friends. You guys have influenced me, and taught me, and supported me, even when you didn't realize it, even when you didn't intend to. I can't imagine what kind of life I would have had without you guys in it. I don't even want to. All these ups and downs we've been though, all that needless drama, all those crazy sleepovers and the Fairy Dance . . .my life would be so much less without that.

And that reminds me. Gabi and I were talking about this on the phone. I really miss Lakeline Mall. It's crazy. Charleston Mall here is gorgeous. The ceiling is a giant skylight, and the food court is on the third floor, surrounded by all these pretty plotted plants and there's a huge, beautiful fountain. But every time I shop there I look around think, "Eh. It's alright. Not the same, though." I have so many memories at lakeline mall, like trying to shove Tim in the a Victoria Secrets store to see how embarrassed he gets, or buying years of cute back to school clothes, smelling the Auntie Anne's shop, looking at the Dollar Tree and remembering Kelly talking about the creepy manager there. For some reason I miss lakeline mall in the winter. Something to do with the smell I think. The smell of christmas makes me think of seeing the mall decked out and hanging out with my friends during the cold months.

Wow. Didn't mean to turn this post into pure nostalgia, lol. But seriously, I am a bit at a lost on the autobiography thing because I've never really done anything more exciting than that trip to mexico and we all know how traumatic that turned out. . . .

Oh! Speaking of traumatic experiences, we're supposed to take a picture of the department head of our major for Fresh. Ex. Well, Hollie took a pic of our department head yesterday and told us the professor was NOT happy about having her picture taken and acted like a serious bitch about it. This scared the shit out of me and Whitney and Heather. I hate mean teachers, they intimidate the hell out of me. But we have to have this pic by tuesday and I only go to school on tuesdays and thursdays. So this morning was my one chance. So the three of us decided that we'd just get it done right after Fresh. Ex. like ripping a bandaid.

We creeped up to this lady's office like we're walking to our own execution. The closer we got, the closer we walked together until I was holding onto Heather's arm. Finally we get to her door, but we won't walk in. Finally Whitney has the guts to walk into her office and ask for her picture.

She was nice. I mean, she wasn't super sweet, but I was thinking I'm about to meet the Wicked Witch of the West and we got our pictures no problem. Poor Hollie must have caught her on a really bad day or something.

So kudos to Whitney for the only one of us to grow a set. ^.^

Word of the Day: Diffibulate.

To unbutton or unbuckle

I found this on the Save the Words website. It's a list of old words that are getting kicked out of the dictionary because no one uses them anymore. Have some compassion, people, and adopt one at savethewords.org! We can't just let them die!

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

School Update

You know what drives me crazy? The fact that my hair looks great on days I don't go to school, or even out of the house, and then looks awful on days that I do go to school or my guy friends decide to stop by. What the hell?

So I've been in school for about a month and school is awesome. You have no idea how great it feels to be in school again and not feel like a total loser! I missed school so bad that I ENJOY doing my math homework. There is seriously something wrong with me. This year I'm taking Freshmen Experience, Math 111, English 101, Spanish 101, and Foundations of Educations.

I thought Fresh. Ex. would be like ACE was in high school, but so far we haven't suffered through any color oriented personality tests. Actually the whole course is really useful. We go on tours around the campus to find things like the clinic and the library places to go for free tutoring and computer labs that don't charge money to print, places that I wouldn't find until my second year or more. Plus, most of my new friends are in that class, like the Gorgeous Whitney, who is probably reading this. Or should it be the Whimsical Whitney? Which do you prefer?

Math is ridiculously easy, way easier than my freaking SAT's, and it's not even the easiest math course they have! Right now we're doing logic and truth tables, which is probably the first time I've had fun in a math class.

English is great because my professor is a professional writer and he teaches the course like one big creative writing class. The closest we've got to a research paper is a public service announcement, lol.

State doesn't offer Latin, which is totally a bunch of shit, so I'm taking Spanish instead. I like Spanish a lot because it's a language I can actually speak without taking ten minutes to craft a sentence that has all the grammatically correct word endings. But it's got nothing on Latin, and I was really hopeing to get a latin teaching degree. Maybe in Grad school . . .

I'll tell you what, I seriously lucked out on my education class. Everyone I've talked to has Dr. Dean, who, besides being brilliant, is ridiculously hard. They've had a gazillion quizzes, where some of the answers aren't even in the textbook, a gazillion hours of reading, and a ton of written assignments. I've got Aulenbacher three hours on Tuesday and you know what we do? Chat. Chat about the news, chat about crappy teachers we hated, chat about stupid things our high schools did that we hated, look over some power point notes, and then go home two hours early. Seriously. That's all we do.

So yeah, school's great. Oh, and today is Daddy's birthday. He's fifty five, but you didn't hear that from me. To the public at large, he staunchly insists that he's forty one. The sick this is that he looks forty one and can totally get away with it. I swear it makes me want to wave a neon sign with his real birth year on it.

Well I've got gourmet hamburgers to grill. I can't trust Daddy to grill because the last batch of hamburgers came out as tiny little lava rocks. No thanks.

Word of the Day: Bandersnatch
---An imaginary animal of fierce disposition
or
---a person of uncouth or unconventional habits, attitudes, etc., esp. one considered a menace, nuisance, or the like
Coined by Lewis Carrol for Through the Looking Glass

So I knew it was a monster from Alice in Wonderland because of my almost House-like obsession with that book, but I had no idea that it can be used to describe an asshole. Next time somebody pisses me off you can bet I'm going to call them a fucking Bandersnatch. . . .